The Beekeeper's Lament How One Man and Half a Billion

The Beekeeper's Lament How One Man and Half a Billion Honey Bees Help Feed America “You’ll never think of bees their keepers or the fruits and nuts of their laborsthe same way again” —Trevor Corson author of The Secret Life of LobstersAward winning journalist Hannah Nordhaus tells the remarkable story of John Miller one of America’s foremost migratory beekeepers and the myriad and mysterious epidemics threatening American honeybee populations In luminous razor sharp prose Nordhaus explores the vital role that honeybees play in American agribusiness the maintenance of our food chain and the very future of the nation With an intimate focus and incisive reporting in a book perfect for fans of Eric Schlosser’s Fast Food Nation Michael Pollan’s The Botany of Desireand John McPhee’s Oranges Nordhaus’s stunning exposé illuminates one the most critical issues facing the world todayoffering insight information and ultimately hope


About the Author: Hannah Nordhaus

Hannah Nordhaus is a journalist and award winning author of The Beekeeper’s Lament HarperCollins 2011 and American Ghost HarperCollins 2015 both national bestsellersHer most recent book American Ghost untangles the life and legend of Hannah’s great great grandmother Julia Staab who traveled the Santa Fe Trail to New Mexico in 1866 as a mail order German Jewish bride — and whose phantom



10 thoughts on “The Beekeeper's Lament How One Man and Half a Billion Honey Bees Help Feed America

  1. says:

    This was without doubt a very enjoyable book to read even though it wasn’t much of a science book If you want to find about bees themselves read The Buzz About Bees which I think is unbeaten as an exploration of the nature of bees Here you won’t really even get a feel for what a superorganism is or how individual bees really aren’t animals in their own right However


  2. says:

    This is Nonfiction Environmental Science about the plight of bees and the things beekeeper's do to keep them alive First let me just say I listened to the audio and I didn't care for the narrator at all She had a nonchalance to her voice and absolutely NO passion for the subject It felt like the book was just words to her Other than that this was interesting to see the lengths t


  3. says:

    The age of mass production has not been kind to beesBefore humans intervened before the days of agribusiness bees left to their own devices had hard short and sometimes violent and vicious lives Since we've started helping them their lives are worse And we owe them a huge debt of gratitudeThis fascinating book looks at the lives of bees and at one cantankerous commercial beekeeper Jo


  4. says:

    A terrific book for anyone who has uestions about the demise of the honey bee Layman or Apiarist you will enjoy the well researched and humor injected narrative I learned so much and it never felt like I was learning


  5. says:

    As befits one who seeks to be a man of wealth and taste if I have to choose between them the former I aspire to live on a vast estate leading the life of a gentleman farmer That doesn’t seem to be the immediate future but we do have enough land to keep some chickens and grow some apples This year we are planning to add some honeybees so I figured I should educate myself before taking the first


  6. says:

    The Beekeeper’s Lament How One Man and Half a Million Honey Bees Help Feed America by Hannah Nordhaus Published by Harper Perennial this nonfiction work is altogether fascinating and thought provoking Part artform part science beekeeping is certainly one of the most difficult industries To choose such an unsteady livelihood in order to produce honey and pollinate a vast majority of the foods American


  7. says:

    Primarily a profile of John Miller a prominent beekeeper who produces a huge amount of America’s honey he owns literally billions of bees Also gives you a good glimpse into the complex social and biological lives of bees and looks briefly into Colony Collapse Disorder CCD Two potential causes 1 Israeli Acute Paralysis Virus or IAPV which is carried on RNA kind of like AIDS in humans IAPV is correlated stro


  8. says:

    It took me a long time to get through this narrative When I started I knew we had problems with our nation's bee population and so I thought it would be good to learn about beekeepers and how they are coping I am not sure if it was Nordhaus' writing or when I was reading this but I just couldn't keep my focus on this bookI learned a lot I had no idea how important bees are to almond trees and it never occurred to


  9. says:

    A few years ago I was reading bits and pieces about the mystery of the disappearing honeybee when it came up in the news though as with most things the idea of yet another thing going horribly wrong just kind of overwhelmed me and I let it slide by lest my head explodeFast forward upon reading a random article on beekeeping the other day and finding myself fascinated with the whole affair I decided it was time to pick u


  10. says:

    It is always amazing to me that vast number of other worlds that are out there We all get so engrossed in our own worlds that we often do not pay attention to the vast and intricate and interlocking other worlds that spin simultaneously around us As I enjoy honey on my toast I am now aware of a whole world of bees their keepers and the mass production of honey in the modern world Hannah Nordhaus's portrayal of real world peop


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *